The Arena of Compassion

The Arena of Compassion  by Jason Exley

 

I remember a time that I was responsible for watching the boys while Renee left to run some errands.  In my preoccupation with work, I failed to realize the bump that my middle child had received while playing rough with his big brother, the pizza that was burning in the oven and large puddles of water that had spilled out of the bath water.  When I finally realized it a fury  frenzy of instructions and frustrated rebukes only made the matters worse.

 

My middle child proceeded to grab my phone and holding it to his ear he said, “I want mommy, PLEASE!”  My child wanted his mommy to rescue him from the frustrations, and the hurts, and all the trouble that he was facing in life.  He needed someone to bring some change into his life.  He needed someone to care for his feelings, his hurts, his inability to handle the changes of life!

 

In Mark 6 people came to Jesus with that same kind of attitude.  They needed someone to care for them.  THey saw Jesus and ran to him with all the frustrations, the hurts, the troubles in their lives.  And in vs 34 it says, “As he went ashore he saw a great throng, and he had compassion on them, because they were like sheep without a shepherd; and he began to teach them many things.

 

And that brings us to the question, if Christ had compassion on the crowds, what are we to do? To love means to carry another’s burdens.  As Christians we must have strong shoulders to bear the burdens of others.

 

Question:

What are you doing to have compassion and help those around you?

 

About jasonexley

After growing up as a Missionary Kid in Argentina and other Latin American countries, my wife and I now live in Midlothian, TX, where we pastor a really exciting new church called Life Church.

Posted on March 21, 2011, in Church, Love Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

