ABC’s of Giving

“Stewardship” means: using God given abilities to manage God given resources, to accomplish God ordained results.  Stewardship is about having the HEART OF STEWARDSHIP. In other words, good stewardship is a matter of ATTITUDE that stands behind your giving and your service.

It’s not what you give or what you do for God, it’s WHY you do it.
If you give money with a wrong attitude… you’re not being a good steward.
If you do ministry with a wrong attitude… you’re not being a good steward.

The parable of the Good Samaritan in Luke 10 is a parable about the attitude of stewardship. There are three attitudes on display here… and many people exhibit 1 of these 3:

1) What’s YOURS is MINE and I’m going to take it.

The thieves on the road in vs 30 who robbed and beat him. That’s not an attitude we’d approve of. In fact, even the world understands this is wrong.  Yet, how many times do we want what someone else has?

2) What’s MINE is MINE and I’m going to keep it. Who does Jesus say passed by this man in the ditch in vs 31-32? A Levite and a Pharisee, these were religious leaders. These were the volunteers in their church. They were trained to serve God – But they’re not going to do anything for the beaten man.

3) What’s MINE is YOURS – I’ll share it with you. This Samaritan was not “trained in ministry”, yet he enters the story in vs 33-37 and changed everything. The Samaritan was probably not any wealthier than the Levite or Pharisee. This Samaritan probably had other things to do in his life. And yet, he stopped where the others walked on by.

You know what a “steward” is? A steward is someone who takes care of something for someone else. If you’re a steward.. you don’t own what you have. So, if I’m going to be a “steward for God” I need to make up my mind that I don’t own…

  • My Time
  • My Money
  • My Possessions
  • My Relationships

Questions: What have I been holding on to that really belongs to God?

About jasonexley

After growing up as a Missionary Kid in Argentina and other Latin American countries, my wife and I now live in Midlothian, TX, where we pastor a really exciting new church called Life Church.

Posted on February 27, 2011, in Church, Love Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

