Package

Package   by Jason Exley

 

Recently I got a package notice from the post office. Because I was not expecting a package, I thought, “Oh no, it’s probably a package from some company that I will not want, so I will have to go to the trouble of sending it back …

Later that day a good friend mentioned to me that I should be getting something in the mail from him. Well, my attitude about the package waiting for me at the post office changed immediately because I now knew who had sent it! I was excited to see what it was, so I went expectantly to the post office as soon as I could.

Later that evening I had a thought … In life there are many unexpected packages. Some I like and others I don’t. I have come to realize that no matter what comes, God is in control.

Even in moments of despair in the past, when I would have loved to have written, “RETURN TO SENDER”, I have survived and even come to a point of anticipating the future because I chose to focus on the Sender, and on the knowledge that God does love me and really does know and care about my life’s circumstances. Sometimes I have doubted but in those moments I always come back to the cross as the ultimate proof of God’s love. Jesus died for me, he proved his love. The words of Romans 8:28 are profound: “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God and are called according to his purpose.”

Questions:

What are the packages you hold today? Can you trust that God does have a plan? What about writing Him a thank you note?

 

About jasonexley

After growing up as a Missionary Kid in Argentina and other Latin American countries, my wife and I now live in Midlothian, TX, where we pastor a really exciting new church called Life Church.

Posted on February 14, 2011, in Church, Love Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

