Blind Faith

In a recent conversation with my 7 year old, I was amazed at his faith in God.  He believes without question that God is real. He believes in the truth and authority of The Bible and he believes without doubt that he will be going to heaven because he has made a commitment to Christ.  At the end of the day, believing in God is all about faith, and faith can be a really hard concept to grasp – for children and for adults.

Hebrews 11:1 says, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we not see.”

‘Sure’ and ‘certain’ are pretty strong words aren’t they?  There’s no room for doubt when we use those words.  It’s much easier to be sure about something when we can see ‘it’ and it’s usually easier to convince other people of our belief in something if they can see it for themselves too.  So how can I explain my ‘blind’ faith to someone?  Here are some invisible things that most people believe exists:

AIR – I can’t see the air around me but I know it’s there.  I can fill a balloon with air and see the balloon expand.

WIND – similar to air, I can’t see it, it’s invisible too but I can see the effects of wind (trees, washing, leaves etc being blown about)

RADIO WAVES – these are invisible and yet we know they are there because we can turn on the TV and pick up a broadcast from many miles away.

INTERNET – as with radio waves, I can use my ‘wireless’ internet and connect with people all over the world.

GRAVITY – a ‘rule’ of nature that we can’t see but know exists.  If I drop something or throw something in the air, it will fall back to ground level.

These examples are fairly simplistic, but at the end of the day this is what faith is – believing something that you cannot see.  What does your faith in God look like?

Homework: This week sit down with your family and ask them about their faith, and what believing in God means to them.

About jasonexley

After growing up as a Missionary Kid in Argentina and other Latin American countries, my wife and I now live in Midlothian, TX, where we pastor a really exciting new church called Life Church.

Posted on March 29, 2010, in Church, Love Articles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

